Appendix C: United States Federal Courts Circuits Map

Map of the United States showing each of the Federal Circuits and which states are included in each. The First Circuit includes Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Puerto Rico, and Rhode Island. The Second Circuit includes New York, Vermont and Connecticut. The Third Circuit includes  Delaware. New Jersey. Pennsylvania and the Virgin Islands.The Fourth Circuit includes Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia. The Fifth Circuit includes the District of the Canal Zone, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas. The Sixth Circuit includes Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Tennessee. The Seventh Circuit includes Illinois, Indiana, and Wisconsin. The Eighth Circuit includes Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota. The Ninth Circuit includes Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Montana,  Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Guam, and Hawaii.  The Tenth Circuit includes Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming. The Eleventh Circuit includes Alabama, Florida, and Georgia. There is also the District of Columbia Circuit for the District of Columbia and the Federal Circuit which includes all federal judicial districts.

*Source: Court Role and Structure, Retrieved July 27, 2018, from