icon of a stopwatch

This United States History textbook contains sixteen modules—roughly one module  per week for a 16-week semester. Some choose not to teach the Reconstruction module and save that for the second half of U.S. History. If you need to modify the pace and cover the material more quickly, the following modules work well together:

  • Module 6: Creating a Government (1776–1783) and Module 7: The Early Republic (1790–1820)
  • Module 10: Jacksonian Democracy (1820–1840) and Module 11: A Nation on the Move: Westward Expansion (1800–1860)
  • Module 12: Cotton Is King — The Antebellum South (1800–1860) and Module 13: Antebellum Idealism and Reform Impulses (1820–1860)

All of the modules are comparable in size and depth, though the slightly shorter/smaller modules in the course are the following, with Module 13 being the shortest:

  • Module 1: Indigenous America and Early European Exploration
  • Module 4: Imperial Reforms and Colonial Protests (1763–1774)
  • Module 6: Creating a Government (1776–1783)
  • Module 11: Cotton Is King — The Antebellum South (1800–1860)
  • Module 13: Troubled Times — The Sectional Crisis

Larger modules, which may be stretched out over multiple weeks include:

  • Module 3: British North America
  • Module 8: Industrial Transformation (1800—1850)
  • Module 14: The Civil War (1860–1865)
  • Module 15: The Era of Reconstruction (1865–1877)